limint function details

Moderators: Frank, paul, Hiwot, Chris, peter

dgs266
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:10 am

limint function details

Postby dgs266 » Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:30 pm

Can I use a variable as a limit in the limint function? If so, what is the behavior of the function when I change the value of the variable? For example, if the upper limit is set to 10 and the integral is currently 9 and I change the upper limit to 8 what behavior would I expect?

Thanks.

paul
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 2:00 pm
Location: Controllab Products B.V.

Re: limint function details

Postby paul » Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:11 pm

dgs266 wrote:Can I use a variable as a limit in the limint function? If so, what is the behavior of the function when I change the value of the variable? For example, if the upper limit is set to 10 and the integral is currently 9 and I change the upper limit to 8 what behavior would I expect?

Thanks.


Yes you can, but it might not behave as you expect. What happens is a limitation on the rate of the integral, if the integral exceeds the maximum value, the rate will become zero, and therefor the state of the integral will not change any further. It will NOT become 8 in your case. If this is what you want, you need to use the resetint () function instead.

More info on both is here:
http://www.20sim.com/webhelp4/languageReference/Functions/Limint.htm
and here:
http://www.20sim.com/webhelp4/languageReference/Functions/Resint.htm
member 20-sim development team

dgs266
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:10 am

Postby dgs266 » Tue Jun 27, 2006 10:02 pm

Thanks. I'll give that a try.

Van Oort
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 9:54 am
Location: University of Twente
Contact:

Postby Van Oort » Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:13 am

I think this is stuff that should be in the help...


Return to “Languages”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest